Update on search for Institute Community and Equity Officer

October 18, 2019
Martin A. Schmidt, Provost, 2014–2022 |

To the members of the MIT community,

I write to update you on the search for MIT’s Institute Community and Equity Officer (ICEO).

I have asked Associate Provost Tim Jamison and our former interim ICEO Alyce Johnson to co-chair the search committee. Alyce has also kindly agreed to stay on in a part-time capacity to assist in this and a few other matters. Tim and Alyce have assembled an outstanding team of faculty, staff, undergraduate and graduate students, and postdocs, and the search is in full swing. The committee members are listed below. If you have questions or suggestions, please feel free to submit them to iceo-search@mit.edu.

Between now and the appointment of the ICEO, Tim Jamison and I will continue to support the mission of our Institute Community and Equity Office. Program Director Beatriz Cantada and Tim are continuing all of its programs, such as the MLK Visiting Professors and Scholars Program and the ICEO Community Dialogues. You are welcome, and encouraged, to share your ideas for the office with Beatriz and Tim.

In closing let me reiterate that an important part of my decision to appoint Tim to his new role was that doing so increases MIT’s investment in and commitment to strengthening our community. Since beginning this summer, Tim has met with many people from across MIT and has begun framing plans and initiatives based on what he has heard. In the near future you will hear more from Tim about his activities and ideas.

With very best wishes,

Martin A. Schmidt

Search Committee Members

Gloria Anglón, Assistant Dean and Director of Diversity Initiatives, Office of Graduate Education

Qasim Bukhari, Postdoctoral Associate, McGovern Institute for Brain Research

Chevalier “Chevy” Cleaves, Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer, MIT Lincoln Laboratory

DiOnetta Jones Crayton, Associate Dean and Director, Office of Minority Education

Marion Cunningham, Administrative Officer, Program in Art, Culture, and Technology

John E. Fernández, Professor of Building Technology, Architecture

Roberto Fernandez, William F. Pounds Professor of Management and Professor of Organization Studies

Cory Frontin, Graduate Student, Aeronautics and Astronautics

Danielle Geathers, Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering

Ifueko Igbinedion, Graduate Student, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Razvan Marinescu, Postdoctoral Associate, Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Lab

Kristala Jones Prather, Arthur D. Little Professor, Chemical Engineering

Reza Rahaman, Bernard M. Gordon Industry Co-Director, Bernard M. Gordon MIT Engineering Leadership Program

Krishna Rajagopal, Dean of Digital Learning and Professor of Physics

Luis Solis, Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering

Lily L. Tsai, Ford International Professor, Political Science

Heather Williams, Assistant Dean, School of Science