New Vice President for IS&T Mark Silis

March 5, 2019
Israel Ruiz, Executive Vice President and Treasurer, 2011–2020 |

Dear MIT faculty and staff,

I am delighted to share the news that Mark Silis has accepted the role of Vice President (VP) for Information Systems and Technology (IS&T) effective March 1.

Mark has been a member of IS&T for the past 15 years in roles of progressively increasing responsibility. He began his career at MIT as a programmer in 2003, was soon promoted to the role of Manager of Network and Infrastructure Services in 2004, Director of Operations and Infrastructure Services in 2010, and Associate Vice President of IS&T in 2015. This wealth of experience has given Mark a deep appreciation and understanding of the MIT culture, and he brings in-depth technical knowledge, operational strength and exceptional leadership skills to the position of VP. He has demonstrated an unwavering dedication to the IS&T organization and enduring commitment to MIT through a period of significant change.

As VP, Mark will lead the IS&T organization in delivering outstanding technology systems and services for our community in support of MIT's education, research, and administrative programs. Working with the Information Technology Governance Committee, he will be a key contributor to the development of information technology policy at MIT, and I am thrilled to have Mark as a member of our senior leadership team.

I want to express my gratitude to Associate Provost Krystyn Van Vliet and Deputy Executive Vice President Anthony Sharon for leading the search, and to all of the members of the search committee for their dedication and service. Their work has been invaluable in defining how the role of VP for IS&T can best support MIT's mission today, and identifying the key attributes needed to fulfill the many demands of this critical role.

I have the greatest enthusiasm for the contributions Mark will continue to make to the Institute, and ask that you join me in offering our congratulations.


Israel Ruiz
Executive Vice President and Treasurer

Search Committee Members

  • Michail Bletsas, Media Laboratory
  • Wesley Esser, Sloan School of Management
  • Frans Kaashoek, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Krishna Rajagopal, Dean for Digital Learning
  • Anthony Sharon, Deputy Executive Vice President (Co-chair)
  • Glen Shor, Vice President for Finance
  • Krystyn Van Vliet, Associate Provost (Co-chair)
  • Ian Waitz, Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate and Graduate Education
  • Heather Yager, MIT Libraries
  • Julienne Dean, Human Resources (Staff)