MLK Leadership Awards—call for nominations

November 26, 2013
L. Rafael Reif, President, 2012–2022 | Edmund Bertschinger, Institute Community and Equity Officer, 2013–2018 |

To the members of the MIT Community:

On Thursday, February 6, 2014, MIT will mark the 40th anniversary celebration of its annual Martin Luther King, Jr. breakfast and program. We will honor Dr. King's legacy by recognizing a broad range of committed people who embody his ideals in service to the community.

I write to encourage you to consider nominating an individual or group for the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Leadership Award, which is given annually to students, alumni, staff, and faculty who embody the spirit of Dr. King's work. This year we will give a special Lifetime Achievement Award to an individual or group that has displayed a commitment of service to others and dedication to positive social changes in their community.

Eligibility. MIT alumni/ae, undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and staff are eligible for nomination for the Leadership Award or the Lifetime Achievement Award. Consideration will be given to both individuals and groups, including living groups and student and professional associations. Past recipients of the MLK, Jr. Leadership Award are eligible for the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Criteria. "Service to the community" is defined in the broadest sense and includes academic, research, religious, and secular contributions in which integrity, leadership, creativity, and positive outcome are apparent.

If you wish to nominate a person or organization for either of these awards, please submit your letter by December 13, 2013, to Acia Adams-Heath at <> or in Room NE18-901 and indicate if your nomination is for the MLK Leadership Award or the MLK Lifetime Achievement Award.

The MLK celebration subcommittee of the Committee on Race and Diversity will select awardees, and recipients will be announced at the celebratory breakfast on February 6, 2014. If you have questions please contact Mrs. Adams-Heath, Professor John de Monchaux, or Ms. Tobie Weiner. They are members of the MLK, Jr. celebration subcommittee and would be delighted to assist.

There are many in our community, both on and off campus, whose values and actions remind us of Dr. King's legacy. Please help us recognize and honor them.


L. Rafael Reif, President

Edmund Bertschinger, Institute Community and Equity Officer