Announcing two associate provost appointments

November 18, 2022
Cynthia Barnhart, Provost | Maria T. Zuber, Vice President for Research |

To the members of the MIT community,

We are pleased to announce the appointment of Brent D. Ryan as associate provost and Anne White as associate provost and associate vice president for research administration. Brent and Anne will begin their appointments immediately.

Associate Provost Brent D. Ryan

A former chair of the Committee on Campus Planning, Brent is the head of the City Design and Development group and associate professor of urban design and public policy in the Department of Urban Studies and Planning. Before joining MIT’s faculty in 2009, Brent worked as a city planner and urban designer in New York, Boston, and Chicago and was an assistant professor of urban planning at the University of Illinois at Chicago and Harvard University. In 2021, the Society for American City and Regional Planning History honored him with the Journal of Planning History Prize.

In his new role, Brent’s primary responsibilities relate to campus space management, including the Institute’s space assignments, renovations, and lease budget. In partnership with the Office of the Executive Vice President and Treasurer, Brent will also coordinate long-range campus planning and stewardship and co-chair the Committee for Renovation and Space Planning.

Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for Research Administration Anne White

Anne, whose research focuses on fusion energy, joined the MIT faculty in 2009; she became head of the Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering in 2019. In 2020, she was named the School of Engineering Distinguished Professor of Engineering, reflecting her excellence in research and teaching and her commitment to Institute service. Anne has served on several Institute-wide committees and is currently co-chair of the MIT Climate Nucleus. She also chairs the U.S. Department of Energy’s Fusion Energy Sciences Advisory Committee.

In her new role, Anne will oversee the Office of Strategic Alliances and Technology Transfer; Research Administration Services; Research Administration Systems and Support; and Research Development.

We are fortunate to have Brent and Anne leading these efforts, and we hope you will join us in congratulating them on their new roles.


Cynthia Barnhart

Maria T. Zuber
Vice President for Research